NWW BOOTS AND BOOKS CLUB

By at

  • Share

NWW BOOTS AND BOOKS

Love walking?

Love books?

Then why not combine the two with our BOOTS AND BOOKS club!

 

A spark of an idea a few years ago about Boots and Books, came to fruition in lockdown when we couldn’t be together but, like everyone else, we could get together through the powers of ZOOM.

Once lockdown ceased our book club continued, meeting once a month on a Nordic Walk to discuss our latest read.

Since everyone has their own perspective, a book club meeting allows for a healthy flow of insights, in an open and friendly walking environment.

Walkers can openly express their thoughts and broaden their understanding of a particular book. And the discussions, led by Caroline, are free and open, allowing non-readers to join in and be part of a stimulating and thought provoking discussion.

 

Our inaugural book was the highly acclaimed “Salt Path” by Raynor Winn, an honest and life-affirming true story of coming to terms with grief and the healing power of the natural world and walking. Initially our “genre” was books about walking,  but we soon expanded into more mainstream choices with “Where the Crawdads Sing” and “The Life of Pi”. And in 2022 we used the BIG JUBILEE READ as inspiration for our books, taking one from each decade to enjoy.

 

Moving into 2024, the BCC programme “Between the Covers” will provide a shortlist for our choices for the first part of the year. The talk show, presented by DJ Sara Cox, invites guests stars to chat about their favourite books.

 

Our February book choice, chosen from Series 1 of Between the Covers in 2020, will be:

THE THURSDAY MURDER CLUB by Richard Osman

The first novel in the record-breaking, million-copy bestselling Thursday Murder Club series by Richard Osman

‘Smart, compassionate, warm, moving and so VERY funny’ Marian Keyes
‘So smart and funny. Deplorably good’ Ian Rankin
‘Thrilling, moving, laugh-out-loud funny’ Mark Billingham

In a peaceful retirement village, four unlikely friends meet up once a week to investigate unsolved when a brutal killing takes place on their very doorstep, the Thursday Murder Club find themselves in the middle of their first live Joyce, Ibrahim and Ron might be pushing eighty but they still have a few tricks up their our unorthodox but brilliant gang catch the killer before it’s too late?

The Times Crime Book of the Month
Guardian Best Crime and Thrillers

KINDLE                       £5.99

PAPERBOOK              £5.00

 

 

Our March book choice, chosen from Series 2 of Between the Covers in 2021 will be:

THE FINE ART OF INVISIBLE DETECTION by Robert Goddard

‘One of the finest crime writers of any generation’ Daily Mail
‘He’s the high priest of plot … deftly woven, but also beautifully written … I loved it’ Mel Giedroyc

Umiko Wada has recently had quite enough excitement in her life. With her husband recently murdered and a mother who seems to want her married again before his body is cold, she just wants to keep her head down.

As a secretary to a private detective, her life is pleasingly uncomplicated, filled with coffee runs, diary management and paperwork.

That is, until her boss takes on a new case. A case which turns out to be dangerous enough to get him killed. A case which means Wada will have to leave Japan for the first time and travel to London.

Following the only lead she has, Wada quickly realises that being a detective isn’t as easy as the television makes out. And that there’s a reason why secrets stay buried for a long time. Because people want them to stay secret. And they’re prepared to do very bad things to keep them that way…

A pulse-pounding, breathless crime thriller, perfect for fans of Anthony Horowitz’s Hawthorne series, Robert Galbraith’s Cormoran Strike series and LJ Ross’s Alexander Gregory thrillers.

KINDLE                       £4.99

PAPERBOOK              £9.19

 

 

Our next BOOTS AND BOOKS WALK will be on SATURDAY 24TH FEBRUARY AT 9:15AM

BOOK NOW!

https://nordicwalking.co.uk/find-walks/292983

and remember you don’t have to have finished or even read the book – come along and enjoy a sociable gentle walk with us.

 

 

 

TRACY REEVE

LEAD INSTRUCTOR

NORDIC WALKING WATFORD

  • Posted in:

WORKING